Dear Parent,

To protect the health and safety of all our pupils and staff when they return in September, we are asking everyone to abide by the government rules on travelling abroad during the summer holiday period.

  • Coronavirus regulations mean that you must self-isolate for 14 days if you arrive in the UK from a country not on the list below.
  • You will need to self-isolate if you visited or made a transit stop in a country that is not on the list in the 14 days before you arrive in England.

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

Transit stops

A transit stop is a stop where passengers can get on or off. It can apply to coaches, ferries, trains or flights. Your ticket should show if a stop is a transit stop.

If your journey involves a transit stop in a country not on the list, you will need to self-isolate when you arrive in England if:

  • new passengers get on
  • you or other passengers get off the transport you are on and mix with other people, then get on again

So if your child has been abroad to a country not included in the list over the page during the summer holidays and returned to England since 18th August 2020 you must not send them back to school until they have completed a 14 day isolation period.

When school starts on September 1st 2020 please call the school to report that your child is self-isolating for 14 days following travel abroad. Let the school know the date of return to the country, which country you travelled to and if a transit stop was made and the anticipated return date to school if your child remains healthy.

Thank you for your cooperation and support at this difficult time.

Yours sincerely


Countries and territories with no self-isolation on arrival in England 

Unless you have visited or made a transit stop in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days, you do not need to self–isolate when you arrive in England from the following countries and territories:

Akrotiri and Dhekelia Iceland
Andorra Ireland
Anguilla the Isle of Man
Antigua and Barbuda Italy
Aruba Jamaica
Australia Japan
Austria Liechtenstein
The Bahamas Lithuania
Barbados Luxembourg
Belgium Macao (Macau)
Bermuda Malta
Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba Mauritius
British Antarctic Territory Monaco
British Indian Ocean Territory Montserrat
British Virgin Islands the Netherlands
Cayman Islands New Caledonia
the Channel Islands New Zealand
Croatia Norway
Curaçao Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
Cyprus Poland
Czech Republic Reunion
Denmark San Marino
Dominica Seychelles
Falkland Islands South Korea
Faroe Islands South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Fiji Spain
Finland St Barthélemy
France St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
French Polynesia St Kitts and Nevis
Gibraltar St Lucia
Germany St Pierre and Miquelon
Greece Switzerland
Greenland Taiwan
Grenada Trinidad and Tobago
Guadeloupe Turkey
Hong Kong Turks and Caicos Islands
Hungary Vatican City State

Please keep checking on for updates to the list.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.